General Guidelines


We accept literary submissions in any genre. We do not reprint previously published work, book reviews, or unsolicited translations. Our submission periods are September 15th to December 15th, and January 15th to April 15th, but we will consider work year-round from subscribers. 

We recommend considering the page count of your work before submitting. Since NOR is a relatively thin volume, a prose piece of more than 20 pages will have to work hard to find a place. 

New Ohio Review’s contributors receive a payment of $10/page for prose and $30/page for each poem, in addition to two copies of the issue and a one-year subscription.

Simultaneous submissions are fine, but please let us know in your cover letter and inform us immediately if your work is accepted elsewhere. 

Please submit only once per reading period in each genre unless we request more work. 

FORMAT: 

Poems should be individually typed, either single- or double-spaced, on one side of the page. (Please do not send more than six poems in a single submission.) Prose should be typed, double-spaced on one side. Cross-genre work or any work that is unusually formatted is welcome, but please be aware that our page width and font size are restricted. If you are submitting through our online system, we prefer Microsoft Word documents (.doc or .docx).

RESPONSE TIME: 

Approximately 2 - 4 months 

WITHDRAWAL: 

Prose: please click "remove" on the submission manager to delete the entire document.
Poetry: please click "activity" on the submission to add a note indicating which poem you would like withdrawn from consideration.

Ends on April 15, 2017$20.00
$20.00
You may submit one story per submission. Prose should be typed, double-spaced, and be no longer than 20 pages. The judge, Colm Toibin, will be reading blind submissions for this contest. Please exclude your contact information from your actual submission--including name, email address, and mailing address. 

$1,000 Prize and publication in New Ohio Review 22. 

Stories that are not selected will still be considered for publication.

Entry fee comes with 1-year subscription.

_______

Colm Toibin was born in Enniscorthy, Co. Wexford in 1955. He studied at University College Dublin and lived in Barcelona between 1975 and 1978. Out of his experience in Barcelona be produced two books, the novel ‘The South’ (shortlisted for the Whitbread First Novel Award and winner of the Irish Times/ Aer Lingus First Fiction Award) and ‘Homage to Barcelona’, both published in 1990. When he returned to Ireland in 1978 he worked as a journalist for ‘In Dublin’, ‘Hibernia’ and ‘The Sunday Tribune’, becoming features editor of ‘In Dublin’ in 1981 and editor of Magill, Ireland’s current affairs magazine, in 1982. He left Magill in 1985 and travelled in Africa and South America. His journalism from the 1980s was collected in ‘The Trial of the Generals’ (1990). His other work as a journalist and travel writer includes ‘Bad Blood: A Walk Along the Irish Border’ (1987) and ‘The Sign of the Cross: Travels in Catholic Europe’ (1994). His other novels are: ‘The Heather Blazing (1992, winner of the Encore Award); ‘The Story of the Night’ (1996, winner of the Ferro-Grumley Prize); ‘The Blackwater Lightship’ (1999, shortlisted for the IMPAC Dublin Prize and the Booker Prize and made into a film starring Angela Lansbury); ‘The Master’ (2004, winner of the Dublin IMPAC Prize; the Prix du Meilleur Livre; the LA Times Novel of the Year; and shortlisted for the Booker Prize); ‘Brooklyn’ (2009, winner of the Costa Novel of the Year). His short story collections are ‘Mothers and Sons’ (2006, winner of the Edge Hill Prize) and ‘The Empty Family (2010). His play ‘Beauty in a Broken Place’ was performed at the Peacock Theatre in Dublin in 2004. His other books include: ‘The Modern Library: the 200 Best Novels Since 1950’ (with Carmen Callil); ‘Lady Gregory’s Toothbrush’ (2002); ‘Love in a Dark Time: Gay Lives from Wilde to Almodovar’ (2002) and ‘All a Novelist Needs: Essays on Henry James’ (2010). He has edited ‘The Penguin Book of Irish Fiction’. His work has been translated into more than thirty languages. Three books on his work have been published: 'Reading Colm Toibin', edited by Paul Delaney (2008); 'Mother/Country: Politics of the Personal in the Fiction of Colm Toibin' by Kathleen Costello-Sullivan (2012); and Eibhear Walshe's 'A Different Story: The Writings of Colm Toibin' (2013). He has received honorary doctorates from the University of Ulster, University College Dublin and the University of East Anglia. He is a regular contributor to the New York Review of Books and a contributing editor at the London Review of Books. Between 2006 and 2013 he was a member of the Arts Council in Ireland.He has twice been Stein Visiting Writer at Stanford University and also been a visiting writer at the Michener Center at the University of Texas at Austin. He also taught at Princeton between 2009 and 2011, and was Professor of Creative Writing at the University of Manchester in the autumn of 2011. He is currently Mellon Professor in the Department of English and Comparative Literature at Columbia University. His second collection of stories 'The Empty Family', published in 2010, was shortlisted for the Frank O'Connor Prize. His collection of essays on Henry James, 'All a Novelist Needs', appeared also in 2010. In 2011 his play 'Testament', dirercted by Garry Hynes, was performed in the Dublin Theatre Festival with Marie Mullen in the lead role. Also in 2011, his memoir 'A Guest at the Feast' was published by Penguin UK as a Kindle original. 

In 2012 his new collection of essays 'New Ways to Kill Your Mother: Writers & Their Families' appeared, as did his edition for Penguin Classics of 'De Profundis and Other Writings' by Oscar Wilde. Also in 2012, his novel 'The Testament of Mary'was published and was short-listed for the Man Booker Prize in 2013. In April 2013 'The Testament of Mary' opened on Broadway with Fiona Shaw, directed by Deborah Warner and was nominated for a Tony Award for Best New Play. The production transferred to the Barbican in London in May 2014. In July 2014 it opened in Barcelona in a Spanish production, with the actress Blanca Portillo. In 2013 it was released as an audio book with Meryl Streep.

Colm Toibin's eighth novel 'Nora Webster' will be published in October 2014 and his 'On Elizabeth Bishop' will appear from Princeton University Press in April 2015. Colm Toibin is President of Listowel Writers Week and chair of Pen World Voices in New York.

$20.00
You may submit one essay per submission. Prose should be typed double-spaced and be no longer than 20 pages. The judge, Phillip Lopate, will be reading blind submissions for this contest. Please exclude your contact information from your actual submission--including name, email address, and mailing address. 

$1,000 Prize and publication in New Ohio Review 22. 

Essays that are not selected will still be considered for publication.

Entry fee comes with 1-year subscription.
___________

Phillip Lopate’s essays, fiction and poetry have appeared in The Best American Short StoriesThe Best American EssaysThe Paris ReviewHarper’sEsquireConde Nast Traveler, and The New York Times. His most recent books are the personal essay collection Portrait Inside My Head and To Show and to Tell: the Craft of Literary Nonfiction (both published in 2013). The Brooklyn-born author also has edited numerous anthologies, including The Art of the Personal Essay (1994) and American Movie Critics (2006).

Lopate has been awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship, two National Endowment for the Arts grants, and two New York Foundation for the Arts grants. He graduated from Columbia University in 1964 received his doctorate from Union Institute & University in 1979. He currently teaches nonfiction at Columbia and the New School in New York.

Books:

[essay collections]: To Show and to Tell (2013), Portrait Inside My Head (2013), Portrait of My Body (1996), Against Joie de Vivre (1989), Bachelorhood (1981)

[fiction]: Two Marriages (2008), The Rug Merchant (1987), Confessions of Summer (1979)

[memoir]: Being With Children (1975)

Ends on April 15, 2017$20.00
$20.00
You may submit up to 6 single-spaced pages of poetry per submission entry. The judge, Rosanna Warren, will be reading blind submissions for this contest. Please exclude your contact information from your actual submission--including name, email address, and mailing address. 

$1,000 Prize and publication in New Ohio Review 20. 

Poems that are not selected will still be considered for publication.

Entry fee comes with 1-year subscription.




_____

Rosanna Warren was born in Fairfield, Connecticut to a pair of writers: Robert Penn Warren, a major poet and novelist, and Eleanor Clark, a prize-winning author of criticism, fiction, and travel books. Warren is the Hanna Holborn Gray Distinguished Service Professor in the Committee on Social Thought at the University of Chicago. Her book of criticism, Fables of the Self: Studies in Lyric Poetry, came out in 2008. Her most recent books of poems are Departure (2003) and Ghost in a Red Hat (2011). She is the recipient of awards from the Academy of American Poets, the American Academy of Arts & Letters, the Lila Wallace Foundation, the Guggenheim Foundation, and the New England Poetry Club, among others. She was a chancellor of the Academy of American Poets from 1999 to 2005, and is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the American Philosophical Society. 
One story per submission. Prose should be typed double-spaced and be no longer than 20 pages. Cross-genre work or any work that is unusually formatted is welcome, but please be aware that our page width and font size are restricted. Please include your email address, mailing address, and genre at the top of your submission. 

Subscribers may submit two stories per reading period.
One essay per submission. Prose should be typed double-spaced and be no longer than 20 pages. Cross-genre work or any work that is unusually formatted is welcome, but please be aware that our page width and font size are restricted. Please include your email address, mailing address, and genre at the top of your submission. 

Subscribers may submit two essays per reading period.
Each typed poem should be on a new page. Please single- or double-space. Cross-genre work or any work that is unusually formatted is welcome, but please be aware that our page width and font size are restricted. Please include your email address, mailing address, and genre at the top of your submission. 

Subscribers may submit up to four batches of poems per reading period.
Ends on April 15, 2017$3.00
$3.00
One story per submission. Prose should be typed double-spaced and be no longer than 20 pages. Cross-genre work or any work that is unusually formatted is welcome, but please be aware that our page width and font size are restricted. 

Please limit to one submission per reading period unless we request more.
Ends on April 15, 2017$3.00
$3.00
One essay per submission. Prose should be typed double-spaced and be no longer than 20 pages. Cross-genre work or any work that is unusually formatted is welcome, but please be aware that our page width and font size are restricted. 

Please limit to one submission per reading period unless we request more.
Ends on April 15, 2017$3.00
$3.00
Each typed poem should be on a new page. Please single- or double-space. Cross-genre work or any work that is unusually formatted is welcome, but please be aware that our page width and font size are restricted. 

Please limit to 2 batches of poems per reading period unless we request more.


SUBSCRIBERS TO NEW OHIO REVIEW ONLY 

Subscribers who wish to submit in any genre can do so for free. In your cover letter, please let us know when you subscribed so we can cross-check our records.

Please also specify the genre of your piece.

Subscribers also have the right to submit during the summer months and during our winter break.

They may also submit twice per reading period.

If you'd like to subscribe, check the subscription options elsewhere on Submittable. And please see our guidelines before you submit as well.